DIY Scratchers!

13 May

Not 150% sure when I will use these, but now that I know
I have the option to do so, I’m beyond excited!! :)

Materials:
Silver Paint
Dish Soap
Contact Paper
Cardstock type paper

I cut up some  old scrapbook paper, into a business card size rectangle.

I drew my own little design on the card. Just to experiment.

The design of my scratcher.

Use the contact paper to cover the area in which you intend to
paint and scratch off.

After writing what you want to reveal, cover the area with contact paper! I covered just the footprints.

Mix 2 parts paint & 1 part soap.

Paint the area in which you intent to cover/scratch.

All my scratchers are covered!

Let dry & scratch away!!:)

Yay! Free Ice Cream for me!:)

I’ve made some for “free kisses” and etc for the husband and I. You can use
them for many different incentives and gifts.

Use them for kids birthdays, cute surprise announcements, or if you have a store, use them for 10% off chances!
Only you know the answer to whats under it, but that goes south once you paint!
So if its a set-up [need a certain person to reveal answer] then be sure to  mark it specially.

Happy scratching & winning!!

LOVE-

:)

15 Responses to “DIY Scratchers!”

  1. Mandy May 28, 2011 at 3:28 pm #

    This is very creative! Thanks for the DIY!!

  2. HRH October 26, 2011 at 4:36 am #

    Do I cover the whole card with contact paper? Or just the part to scratch off? And will the contact paper just stick once I paint it? This is an awesome idea! Thanks!

    • thepoliceofficerswife October 28, 2011 at 9:52 pm #

      The purpose of the contact paper is to protect what’s under the paint! You can cover the whole card with contact paper, to give it a smooth finish, but you really only need to cover what you will be painting.

  3. Heather October 28, 2011 at 1:35 am #

    This is great! I work in the schools and this is perfect for positive reinforcement for my kiddos!! Thanks for sharing!!

  4. w October 28, 2011 at 2:30 am #

    AMAZING!!!! gonna do this for my bff’s birthday :) thanks!

  5. Sarah Kantosky Basham November 9, 2011 at 3:55 pm #

    If I cover the whole card with contact paper, could they be reused?

    • thepoliceofficerswife November 9, 2011 at 5:28 pm #

      I have never tried this, but I wouldn’t see why not! Great question!! As long as the person scratching the card is “gentle” with it and doesn’t bend it, there should be no problem with that! I’d just scratch away all the paint/soap and then re-paint the area again! You probably wouldn’t need to cover the whole card though just for that purpose, you could just do that area. I will have to test this out & maybe do another post on it! Thanks!! :)

      • Sarah Kantosky Basham November 10, 2011 at 3:34 am #

        Thanks! I’m a Pampered Chef consultant and I always do a game where my guests can win something. So that’s why I was wondering if I could use it again & again :o)

  6. Pat January 7, 2012 at 2:21 am #

    I saw an example like this on Pinterest, but they painted with acrylic paint. You can create a stencil with a punched shape of some sort, then sponge over the cut out area. Great ideas!

  7. Jason January 21, 2012 at 4:25 am #

    Say this on Pinterest. What a creative idea! I’m going to see if I can do this for my own class.

  8. Jodi Stevens January 20, 2013 at 3:23 pm #

    What is contact paper?

    • thepoliceofficerswife March 3, 2014 at 2:17 am #

      Its sticky on one side and smooth on the other. You can find it at Wal-Mart in the Kitchen aisle. They have patterned paper and the main purpose is to line your kitchen shelves.

  9. KJ June 26, 2013 at 6:17 pm #

    What kind of paint works best

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

